St George’s C of E School

Head’s Newsletter

 
 
Dear Parents and Carers

 

Welcome back!  I hope you all had an enjoyable summer.  Welcome to all of our new families who have joined us this school year.  I am pleased to say we have had a very positive start back to school, with all classes having settled in well.

 

Important Reminders

 

PE Kit

It is important that your child has an appropriate PE kit (look on website or ask in the office if you are not sure what your child will need).  The PE kit needs to be in school every day but taken home regularly and washed. 

Please ensure that you label all your children’s belongings and uniform including PE kit.

 

Dinner Money

For those parents who pay for their child’s meals, the costs are £2.25 per day, £11.25 per week.  Please make sure that your payments are kept up to date and that you do not get into arrears.  If you do have any sort of financial difficulty please come in and talk to either the office or Lee Franklin, the Parent Advisor, who can perhaps help you.

Unless there are exceptional circumstances meal options can only be changed at the start of a half term.

 

If you are providing your child with a packed lunch please note that the school does not have facilities for refrigerating packed lunches. We are a Nut Aware School so avoid giving your child nuts or nut products in their packed lunches.

 

Free School Meals

If you think that you may be entitled to Free School Meals do contact the office or speak to Lee Franklin.  Lee is able to go online and check your eligibility.  It is especially important if your child is in EYFS/KS1 and receives the universal free school meals as the school would be able to access extra funds for your child if they are entitled.  Please have a conversation with Lee if you would like her to check.

 

Fruit Scheme

Children in Key Stage 2 are not included in the Governments free fruit scheme. If you would like your child to have a piece of fruit during break time you may send this in with them each school day, please do not give them a week’s supply as there is no space in the classroom to store it.

 

Mobile Phones

It is the decision of the Headteacher to allow children to bring mobile phones to school. Parents will need to complete a mobile permission form giving justification for the request and hand it in to the office. The school accepts no responsibility for any loss or damage whilst the device is on school premises.

 

SchoolPing

As we are using the Parent Communication App – SchoolPing for our letters we will be phasing out sending paper letters to parents. If you have not yet given consent to receive communications through SchoolPing please email admin@stgeorges.lewisham.sch.uk  with your child’s name and class and confirmation that you would like to receive communication through the App.

 

Dates for your diary

The International Evening will take place on Thursday 17th October this year.  It is always a very popular event so look out for the letter nearer to that date and get your request for tickets in early.

The Autumn term Parents’ Evening will take place on Tuesday 26th November 2019.

 

The dates for the school year 2019-20 are detailed below. Please take note of the holiday dates and the Inset days that are booked (there is one Inset day to be allocated we will aim to give you as much notice as possible once that date is booked). 

 

We are looking forward to another successful year. At the start of the academic year, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support.

 

SCHOOL TERM DATES 2019/2020

 

AUTUMN TERM 2019

 

Back to school                        Wed 4 Sept –              Friday 18 Oct

Half term holiday                  Mon 21 Oct –              Friday 25 Oct

Back to school                        Mon 28 Oct –              Thursday 19 Dec

 

Christmas holiday                 Fri 20 Dec    –             Fri 3 Jan

 

SPRING TERM 2020

 

Back to school                        Tues 7 Jan                Fri 14 Feb

Half term holiday                  Mon 17 Feb –             Fri 21 Feb

Back to school                        Mon 24 Feb –             Fri 3 April

 

Easter holiday                       Mon 6 April –             Fri 17 April

 

SUMMER TERM 2020

 

Back to school                        Tues 21 Apr –             Fri 22 May

May Day holiday                   Fri 8 May

Half term holiday                  Mon 25 May –            Fri 29 May

Back to school                        Mon 1 June   –            Tue 21 July

 

 Summer holiday begins Wednesday 22 July

 

2019/2020 INSET days when staff but not children are in school:-

Monday 2 September 2019

Tuesday 3 September 2019

Monday 6 January 2020

Monday 20 April 2020

LAST SCHOOL INSET DATE TO BE CONFIRMED